Committees of the SILC

Committees complete the work of the SILC. Committees are open to members of the public to attend and join. Meetings are held by ZOOM webinar conferencing. To attend a meeting, contact the SILC Coordinator at
Below are the standing committees of the SILC.

Communications and Media Committee
The Committee reviews, standardizes, monitors, updates, researches and distributes all forms of SILC communication. Forms of communication include but are not limited to SILC’s website, social media, flyers, announcements, newsletters, meeting attendance, templates, surveys, and data collection. This Committee researches and makes recommendations for disseminating and transmitting information to SILC members, CILs, organizations, and the public. Members of this Committee work in conjunction with other SILC committees for consistency as well as accessibility, distribution, and collection of information.

Executive Committee
The four officers, Chairperson, Chairperson-Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer, and Chairpersons of the Standing Committees shall serve as members of the Executive Committee (EC). For purposes of a quorum, there must be a majority of EC members present, in order to conduct business. The Council, at regularly scheduled meetings, may empower or delegate authority to the Executive Committee to act for the Council on specifically designated issues for which specific action is required prior to the next scheduled Council meeting. The Executive Committee sets the agenda for general meetings.
The Executive Committee meets by ZOOM conference on the first Friday of the month from 8:30 am – 10 am
Join Zoom Meeting
Phone: 1 669 900 6833
Meeting ID: 298 956 657
Executive Committee Agenda and Notes 2-1-19

Finance Committee
To develop the three-year Resource Budget for SILC, monitor SILC expenditures, and make recommendations for changes in spending as necessary.

Membership and Nomination Committee
Reviews SILC membership to determine compliance with Title VII, Section 705. The committee creates a recruitment plan to target potential members who will meet compliance, fill vacancies, and serve the needs of SILC. This Committee implements the recruitment plan, reviews member applications, interviews potential members, and makes recommendations to the Executive Committee. In addition to recruiting new SILC members, the committee nominates officers for the fall elections. The Membership committee meets monthly on the first Wednesday at 1:30 pm – 2:30 pm.
Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android:
Or Telephone:
US: +1 646 876 9923 or +1 669 900 6833
Meeting ID: 361 914 100#
SILC Membership Minutes 010219
SILC Membership Committee Minutes 012319

Membership Committee Minutes 020619

SILC Membership Minutes 030619

Public Policy Committee
1. To work on advocacy issues as identified in the SPIL or as they arise and are approved by SILC;
2. To research and present information and position statements approved by SILC and on behalf of SILC to the disability community, policy makers, press and general public; and
3. To draft educational advocacy letters to state and federal policy makers for SILC approval.
The Public Policy committee meets monthly on the third Monday from 9 am – 10 am.
Public Policy Commmittee 1-14-19 Agenda and Notes

Public Policy Commmittee 3-18-19 Agenda and Notes

State Plan (SPIL) Committee
The State Plan Committee includes the State Plan for Independent Living (SPIL) and sub-committee, Strategic Planning. These two committees work in tandem and serve three purposes:
1. To gather information to create a new State Plan for Independent Living (SPIL);
2. To monitor the progress of the current SPIL; and
3. To develop and monitor short and long term goals.
The SPIL committee meets monthly by conference call on the fourth Friday from 10 am – 11 am.

Youth Committee
The Youth Committee’s purpose is to increase and improve services to disabled youth ages 14-26, who are served by Colorado’s Centers for Independent Living (CILs). Through the CIL’s work, the Committee hopes youth will learn how to advocate on their own behalf, successfully transition to work or some form of post-secondary education, and become our future leaders.
The Youth Committee’s primary role is to carry out SILC’s youth related state plan goals, objectives, and tasks.
The Youth committee meets monthly on the second Wednesday from 3:30 pm – 4:30 pm.

2-20-19 SILC YC Report